Cart Download

The Happy Prince and Other Stories
Shanta Rameshwar Rao
Price : ₹ 146.00  
ISBN : 978-81-250-4950-0
Language : English
Pages : 48
Binding : Paperback
Book Size : 140 x 216 mm
Year : 2015
Series : Orient BlackSwan Easy Readers
Territorial Rights : World
Imprint : No Image
About the Book

The Happy Prince and Other Stories is a collection of modern fairy tales by Oscar Wilde. First published in 1888, the stories are intended for reading aloud to children but have a message for adults as well. The original collection contained five stories --- ‘The Happy Prince’, ‘ The Nightingale and the Rose’, ‘The Selfish Giant’, The Devoted Friend’, and ‘The Remarkable Rocket’.

Contributors (Author(s), Editor(s), Translator(s), Illustrator(s) etc.)

Shanta Rameshwar Rao (1924–2015) wrote and told stories for most of her life. For her, story-telling was as natural as breathing; she believed that stories emerged from deep within and that in the telling and writing, they changed both teller and listener. She wrote for children and adults, and indeed her works have been enjoyed by people of all ages. She is best known for her retelling of Indian myths and legends. Her wide repertoire includes books like Tales of Ancient India (translated into several languages), The Bulbul’s Ruby Nose-ring, Seethu, Bekanna and the Musical MiceChathu—The Elephant Boy (co-authored with Karoor Nilakanta Pillai), In Worship of Shiva, and her retelling of the Mahabharata (now used as essential course material in story-telling courses in universities in the UK)Her novel, Children of God, was published to critical acclaim. She was invited by the Sahitya Akademi to write on the life and teachings of Jiddu Krishnamurti.

A dedicated and inspired educationist, Shanta Rameshwar Rao founded the Vidyaranya School in Hyderabad in 1961, a space where, as she believed, children could learn with joy, creativity and in a spirit of questioning.